Skip to main content

14 individuals earn girls basketball Coaches All-District recognition; Pryor, Parr, Fouch among top honorees

The Highland County Press - Staff Photo - Create Article
Pictured are Highland County's District 14 Coaches Association All-District first-team selections Paisley Pryor of McClain, left, and Jaylie Parr of Whiteoak. (HCP Photos/Stephen Forsha)
The Highland County Press

Highland County had 14 individuals earning 2023-24 District 14 Coaches Association All-District girls basketball honors, including two first-team selections and an Assistant Coach of the Year, as announced Tuesday.

In Div. I/II, McClain freshman Paisley Pryor earned first-team honors, while Whiteoak senior Jaylie Parr was named to the Div. IV first team. Pryor averaged 12.3 points per game for the Lady Tigers in her first season. Parr averaged 13.4 points and scored her 1,000th career point during the 2023-24 season. 

Hillsboro Assistant Coach Ben Fouch.

Earning Division II Assistant Coach of the Year honors was Hillsboro Coach Ben Fouch.

For the second team, a total of four girls basketball players were selected, with Hillsboro junior Blake Herdman and McClain senior Lily Barnes both honored in Div. I/II. Lynchburg-Clay had two seniors honored on the Division III second team in Jade Massey and Addison West.

Two Div. III players earned third-team honors in Fairfield senior Faith Donley and Lynchburg-Clay senior Macy Etienne.

Receiving Honorable Mention recognition were five players: Hillsboro junior Peighton Bledsoe and McClain senior Kaitlyn Jett in Div. I/II; Fairfield junior Kelsey Clark and Lynchburg-Clay senior Ella Barry in Div. III; and Whiteoak senior Lydia Carr in Div. IV.

The complete list is below.

2023-24 Girls All-District Division I/II
First Team
Milee Smith, Unioto, Sophomore
Addison Edgington, Circleville, Freshman
Kiannah Ingram, Logan Elm, Sophomore
Mya Hamilton, Unioto, Junior
Paisley Pryor, Greenfield McClain, Freshman

Second Team
Blake Herdman, Hillsboro, Junior
Caris Risner, Waverly, Junior
Jessee Stewart, Miami Trace, Senior
Maddie Blakeman, Circleville, Sophomore
Amaris Betts, Unioto, Senior
Paige O’Bryant, Waverly, Sophomore
Lily Barnes, Greenfield McClain, Senior

Honorable Mention
Avery Cox, Chillicothe, Senior
Gabby McConnell, Circleville, Senior
Peighton Bledsoe, Hillsboro, Junior
Kimberly Petty, Logan Elm, Sophomore
Kaitlyn Jett, Greenfield McClain, Senior
Gracie Lovett, Miami Trace, Freshman
Amelia Uhrig, Unioto, Senior
Maggie Wall, Washington Court House, Junior
Sara Pecorari, Waverly, Junior

Division II Co-Player of The Year: Milee Smith, Unioto

Division II Coach of The Year: Brian Bigam, Circleville

Division II Assistant Coach of the Year: Ben Fouch, Hillsboro

Division II North/South All Star Game
Payton Johnson, Peebles, Representative
Emma Sayre, Portsmouth West, Alternate

2023-24 Girls All-District Division III
First Team
Payton Johnson, Peebles, Senior
Emma Garrison, Adena, Senior
Sienna Allen, Portsmouth, Sophomore
Emma Sayre, Portsmouth West, Senior
Daysha Reid, Portsmouth, Junior

Second Team
Kenlie Jones, North Adams, Senior
Skylar Zimmerman, South Webster, Senior
Jade Massey, Lynchburg-Clay, Senior
Addison West, Lynchburg-Clay, Senior
Allie Baker, Huntington Ross, Junior

Third Team
Faith Donley, Fairfield, Senior
Katelyn Boerger, North Adams, Junior
Macy Whisman, Portsmouth West, Freshman
Gabby Pernell, Southeastern Ross, Senior
Macy Etienne, Lynchburg-Clay, Senior
Lindsee Williams, Minford, Junior

Honorable Mention
Marly Halcomb, Adena, Freshman
Tabby Schumacher, Eastern Brown, Junior
Kelsey Clark, Fairfield, Junior
Emma Hinshaw, Huntington Ross, Senior
Ella Barry, Lynchburg-Clay, Senior
Lexi Conkel, Minford, Junior
Harlee Brand, North Adams, Senior
Claire Newman, Northwest, Sophomore
Caydence Carroll, Peebles, Senior
Laila Kelly, Piketon, Freshman
Hayven Carter, Portsmouth , Freshman
Emily Moore, Portsmouth West, Senior
Gracie Brown, Southeastern Ross, Sophomore
Bella Claxon, South Webster, Senior
Ashlah Staten, West Union, Junior, 
Mia Vastine, Wheelersburg 
Carlie Clark, Zane Trace

Division III Player of The Year: Payton Johnson, Peebles
Division III Coach of The Year: Andrew Day, Adena
Division III Assistant Coach of The Year: Taylor Jodrey, North Adams

North South All Star Game: Payton Johnson, Peebles, Representative
Emma Sayre, Portsmouth West, Alternate

2023-24 Girls All-District Division IV

First Team
Abbie Knapp, Green, Freshman
Jaylie Parr, Whiteoak, Senior
Lexie Morrow, Lucasville Valley, Senior 
Gracie Ashley, Notre Dame, Senior
Cassie Williams, New Boston, Senior

Second Team
Emma Emnett, Portsmouth Clay, Freshman
Laiken Gullett, Eastern Pike, Sophomore
Karris Dye, Paint Valley, Sophomore
Katie Strickland, Notre Dame, Senior
Ella Kirby, Notre Dame, Senior
Raegan Wikoff, Manchester, Junior

Honorable Mention
Sophia Craf, Portsmouth Clay, Sophomore
Cylie Weaver, Eastern Pike, Junior
Brooklyn Boyer, New Boston, Junior
Matti Hayslip, Green, Freshman
Ella Thompson, Lucasville Valley, Freshman
Madison Dunn, Manchester, Junior
Annabelle Ball, Notre Dame, Senior
Sophia Stauffer, Paint Valley, Junior
Kerrigan Marhoover, Western Latham, Junior
Lydia Carr, Whiteoak, Senior

Division IV Player of The Year: Abbie Knapp, Green, 
Division IV Coach of The Year: J.D. McKenzie, Notre Dame, 
Div.IV Assistant Coach of The Year: Missy Buckley, New Boston
North South All Star Game: Payton Johnson, Peebles, Representative
Emma Sayre, Portsmouth West, Alternate

Publisher's note: A free press is critical to having well-informed voters and citizens. While some news organizations opt for paid websites or costly paywalls, The Highland County Press has maintained a free newspaper and website for the last 25 years for our community. If you would like to contribute to this service, it would be greatly appreciated. Donations may be made to: The Highland County Press, P.O. Box 849, Hillsboro, Ohio 45133. Please include "for website" on the memo line.